Practice makes perfect

It took me about 10 tries to get the final video right for “my first kiss” on friday.  I sat up all night trying to figure out which story would be the best story and which details were the right details to share.  I finally got a take I cared enough about and went with that.  Then, I added the mood music.

I watched the video at least 20 times before I actually got the chance to show it in public.  I was pretty surprised by what came out of me, I had just done a shoot with one of my best friends and was feeling pretty confident that evening, which I think came through in the video.  So Friday came and I was nervous but not that nervous.  I knew I had to do it, but honestly I did not believe that it would happen.  I thought I would stand up there for the 3 minutes I allotted and go back to my seat.  That was not the case.  I showed the video and went to stand in the middle of the room.  I had my mints that I had been popping the whole time to make sure I did not taste bad, the chapstick I had to borrow from my roommate because putting on my lip gloss was too complicated, and the replica of the note I wrote in high school with a friend at a starbucks called my kissing decree.  I stood there for maybe a minute, a girl asked me what about girls, I said I didn’t care.  Then I heard a cheer from the back and suddenly someone emerged from the shadows, took my mint and planted one on me… It was just as nice as I thought it would be in front of 100 people.  A nice end to a great semester.

Leave a Reply

