Blog Takeover – Marla Hernandez – Introduction

As the first post in my blog takeover, I will introduce myself..

I am a Floridian who grew up in a suburb situated between Fort Lauderdale and Miami called Pembroke Pines. It is a terribly average city that is comprised of strip malls and gated communities. I initially studied marine biology but leading up to college I had been honing in on my artistic and creative skills in photography, painting, and drawing. I changed my major from marine biology to studio art after one semester. This caused a chain reaction, moving from South Florida to Orlando where I completed my BFA in Studio Art with a concentration in Photography in addition to a minor in Cinema Studies.

Post graduation I participated in a number of artistic events, working on my photography and putting my creative skills to other unusual uses. I worked as an artist assistant for a local sculptor and ceramic artist and bartended at an art gallery / bar just prior to moving to New York to continue working on photography….

 

So, Welcome to Channel Marla!

 

——-

Reflections on Leap Day – Feburary 29th, 2016.

If we did not include an extra day every leap year, today would be July 28, 2013.

A film that beautifully illustrates time is The Fountain by Darren Aronofsky. Across three (past, present, future) different but simultaenous timelines, the main character is in search for eternal life, to escape death, and essentially transcend time with his partner. In the film, eternal life is linked with nature and becoming one again with it.

 

fountain-2

Still from The Fountain, 2006

Visually, it is a beautiful movie and at times intensely emotionally moving thanks to Clint Mansell’s score. There is a lot to interpret with this film, as this is not Aronofsky’s first go around. He previously directed Requiem for a Dream and Pi. The timelines occur in the age of the conquistador in the 16th century, the turn of the 2nd millennium, and a celestial time and place that can be described as post earth.

“Death is a disease.”

The-Fountain-387

Still from The Fountain, 2006

One thought on “Blog Takeover – Marla Hernandez – Introduction

  1. Post Earth: By 7.5 billion years from now, life on earth and the earth itself will be destroyed, so predicts the science of suns. That is, unless Jesus comes before then.

Leave a Reply

