How this has to be told: Martha Naranjo Sandoval

MarthaNaranjoSandovalhowthishastobe

Martha Naranjo Sandoval

As a teenager, I had the shocking realization that many of my dreams and fantasies were not the products of my own imagination but of films I had seen when I was very young. It unleashed a profound skepticism in me about images and their meaning, but it also allowed me to see how powerful they can be. This haunted me when I relocated to New York and sought solace and grounding in my family’s photo albums. Looking often and repeatedly at pictures of my childhood, they suddenly stopped making sense to me.

“How this has to be told” digs into family photos and mementos to question how much they reveal and how much they silence. Meaning is destabilized as narratives accumulate on the surface of the images across generations and time. Why can’t our family recordings just be images? Why do we burden them with so much responsibility of being something else? The pieces in this show are different responses at the intersection of photography, memory, belonging, and the loss of innocence. This is an invitation to the viewer to not stop at first appearances, to dig deeper into images.

Opening – March 17th, 2016  6:00 – 10:00

By appointment:
Friday 18 and Saturday 19, 11:00 am – 6:00 pm
Sunday 20, 12:00 pm – 5:00 pm

The slideshow will start 5 minutes after every hour.

24-20 Jackson Ave, Third Floor, Long Island City, Queens, 11101

Leave a Reply

