Interview with Katrina Lillian Sorrentino – Solo show March31st LIC ICP-Bard Studio

I am very excited to share with you an interview  I did with Katrina Lillian Sorrentino, one of the second year students of the ICP-Bard MFA program.

Her solo show will be on March 31st in LIC, 20-24 Jackson avenue from 6pm to 9pm.

More informations below and a video of her interview!

Enjoy!!

 

RSVP

How to Make the Bed is an exhibition of photographs, videos and a walking lecture created during my time at The International Center of Photography.
It would be an honor to share this work with you!


Opening Reception – March 31st6-9p.m.
24-20 Jackson Avenue, 3rd floor
Long Island City, Queens
On view April 1st – April 3rd by appointment only


Oma, the matriarch, was dying, I was getting married, and Mom was somewhere in the middle — parent, housewife, daughter, mother, caretaker.

As the wedding approached I regressed to an almost childlike state. I questioned everything: my upbringing, our family history, our faith and I looked to my mother to guide me through it.

Through photography we escaped, she from the banality of suburban rituals and I from my debilitating anxiety. All the while we watched Oma fade.

Exercises in closeness, these images document performances, tantrums, and the signifiers of gender roles and domesticity with which we are shaped as women — parent, housewife, daughter, mother, caretaker. They document the path of becoming by way of holding on and letting go.

©2016 katrina sorrentino, all rights reserved.
katrina-sorrentino.com / katrinasorrentino@gmail.com

 

Leave a Reply

