Return To Color

Color has been on my mind in the last few days.  I’ve recently started a new project photographing children’s toys in an elementary school.  The black and white images surprised me in their serious character.  They do not bring to mind the silly, playful environment in which five and six year old’s learn together.

In order to question this, I have started making color pictures to question this thematic tone and to see if the emotional feelings in the images change.

Color as a medium is much newer to me than black and white and as such can be more exciting to experiment with.   A few years ago, a friend showed me a music video by the band St. Vincent.   I was thrilled and amazed by the color, adding a whole new depth to the music I enjoyed.

 

Leave a Reply

