Inspired By Tacita Dean

I’ve just finished Hans Ulrich Obrist’s fantastic interview with Tacita Dean in his book, The Conversation Series #28.  I especially appreciate Dean’s openness to chance in her practice. She speaks of not always being sure of where an idea or project is going and of trusting her intuition to take her towards an interesting and often surprising direction.

A few days ago, I was walking around Greenpoint and still thinking of this interview.  I saw this on the street.

image

I decided to think of the phrase “Protect Yo Heart” as a starting point for taking images on my walk.

IMG_3455

IMG_3454

And then a happy accident. Not sure where this came from or how it happened.

IMG_3485.JPG

And then I forgot about “Protect Yo Heart” completely.

IMG_3457 copy

IMG_3467

IMG_3462

And then I became distracted by circles and ended my walk with these images.

IMG_3477

IMG_3479

IMG_3480

 

 

Leave a Reply

