Miranda July and Joanie 4 Jackie

In the 1990s, Miranda July created a community of amateur female film makers, like herself at the time.

Now, 22 years later, the Getty Research Institute has acquired the collection of videos as well as other ephemera related to the Joanie 4 Jackie community including booklets, posters and letters.

Based in Portland, July handed out pamphlets at punk shows, colleges and grocery stores to spread the word and invite film submissions.

“In 1995, when I was 21, I dropped out of UC Santa Cruz and moved to Portland, Ore., to be with my then-girlfriend and girls in general. A few months later I typed up the pamphlet (above), inviting women to send me their short movies. I described the concept like this: ‘A Challenge and A Promise: Lady, u send me yr movie + $5.00 & I’ll send you the latest Big Moviola compilation (that’s 10 lady-made movies including yrs).’ Nine movies, plus their own, would be sent back as what I called a ‘Chainletter’ tape. After a cease-and-desist letter from Moviola Digital, I changed the name to Joanie 4 Jackie, a name that meant women supporting other women — rooting for them.”

 

screen-shot-2017-02-13-at-10-33-59-pm

Read more about her original project here: https://www.nytimes.com/2017/01/30/t-magazine/miranda-july-joanie-4-jackie-film.html

Or check out the new online archive, seven years in the making: http://www.joanie4jackie.com

 

Leave a Reply

