Technology – Day 3

The first point I want to bring up is that the camera is a tool and its advancement heavily relies on the future. One of the many things I love about the camera is that it is never fully developed. Every year something new comes out. A new way of seeing; a new way of looking.

Secondly, I want to bring up the idea that the culture of photography relies just as much on obsolescence as it does the future. Usually what might follow next is the conversation on consumerism. Instead I am more interested in what obsolescence might stand for in relation to photography. I see obsolescence as a subtle form of death.

We buy cameras subconsciously knowing that it will eventually be replaced when it’s “dead.” The very act of photographing is often referred to as a violent one, and thus what comes out of this act (what comes next?) brings to light a kind of death that is inherent in photography by creating an image.

So, what does it mean to disrupt this act and use other forms of imaging?

This is something I had in mind when I did my first experiment on/with technology. A project I did in 2014 that was called The Long Road. This project was an experiment with the removal of the traditional camera. For this project, I went on a 3,500 mile road trip without taking a photograph. Instead, I revisited my journey through Google Maps.

screen-shot-2017-03-01-at-11-52-57-pm

Jacob Garcia, The Long Road, 2014

What I ended up with was a reconstructed landscape that was free of its original connection to the physical apparatus. I instead furthered its connection to the post-material world. A world in which nothing lives means its imagery exemplifies death. Using the google maps as a ready made, I used the autonomous machine to create a unique aura of my trip. Creating this aura though depiction, is in a way, similar to if I was going to actually photograph it. No matter which way I would have created the image, I would have (did) kill it.

I often do these sort of explorations to give light to my process. Without understanding my process, its hard to imagine I would be able to understand what the images mean. I am very much thankful of technology, for it always creates new avenues all the time.

Leave a Reply

